Blessed are the Meek

“Blessed are the meek for they shall inherit the earth.” – Jesus (Matthew 5:5)

Where do we see the meekness of Christ the most? The softest, most submitted moments of Christ are when He’s alone with His father. The meek that are blessed by God are the ones who are meek before Him. They come to God in reverence more so than familiarity.

Much of what I know about God stems from His promises. But there is so much more about Him that I can only know from His presence. Without spending time in His presence, I find myself abusing His promises. If I want His promises without His presence then I don’t really love Him and I just want to use Him. If I am meek then there is nothing in me that would deny my Father obedience to His will. Not only would I follow Him obediently – I would long for a deeper relationship with Him. If I am meek then I am able to recognize my need for total dependency on my Father. Meekness is the soft soil that the Gospel thrives in and having the Gospel thriving in our hearts is one of the greatest blessings we have in Christ!

Leave a Reply

